The AltDevConf is a online series of community-driven conferences that take place throughout the year We aim provide free access to a comprehensive selection of game development topics taught by leading industry experts, and to create spaces where bright and innovative voices can be heard. Our next event is the AltDev Student Summit, November 10th/11th 2012
Posts by AltDevConf
  1. AltDev Student Summit - Speaker Change for Day 2 ( Counting comments... )
  2. Speaker Highlight - Anne Toole ( Counting comments... )
  3. Speaker Highlight - Ted Spence ( Counting comments... )
  4. AltDev Student Showcase - The Judges ( Counting comments... )
  5. AltDev Student Summit - Microtalks ( Counting comments... )
  6. Speaker Highlight - Mitu Khandaker ( Counting comments... )
  7. AltDev Student Summit - Breaking In Panel ( Counting comments... )
  8. Speaker Highlight - Brandii Grace ( Counting comments... )
  9. Speaker Highlight - Tim Stobo ( Counting comments... )
  10. Speaker Highlight - Rebecca Fernandez ( Counting comments... )
  11. Speaker Highlight - Bobby Anguelov ( Counting comments... )
  12. AltDev Student Showcase - Finalists Announced ( Counting comments... )
  13. Keynote Speaker - Jen MacLean ( Counting comments... )
  14. Speaker Highlight - Alex Crouzen ( Counting comments... )
  15. Speaker Highlight - Benjamin Cavallari ( Counting comments... )
  16. Speaker Highlight - Erik Johnson ( Counting comments... )
  17. Speaker Highlight - Sharon Price ( Counting comments... )
  18. Keynote Speaker - Ian Schreiber ( Counting comments... )
  19. Speaker Highlight - Kate Edwards ( Counting comments... )
  20. Speaker Highlight - Jeff Ward ( Counting comments... )
  21. Speaker Highlight - Romana Ramzan ( Counting comments... )
  22. Speaker Highlight - Andy Schmoll ( Counting comments... )
  23. Speaker Highlight - Mike Jungbluth ( Counting comments... )
  24. Speaker Highlight - Phil Tibitoski & Jay Margalus ( Counting comments... )
  25. Speaker Highlight - Dustin Clingman ( Counting comments... )
  26. Unity Technologies Sponsors AltDev Student Showcase ( Counting comments... )
  27. Showcase Your Student Projects at AltDev Student Summit ( Counting comments... )
#AltDevConf /

We've announced the finalists for the AltDev Student Showcase already, but we keep talking about the expert judges who are going to be giving their feedback and deciding who will be going home with the Grand Prizes that Unity Technologies have put up. So, it's time to introduce the judges!

We've got an exciting array of talent and a diverse spread of skills and experience lined up to tell our competitors exactly what they think of their projects. We're going to be running two sessions of the Student Showcase, one on each day of the AltDev Student Summit, and we'll be changing the panel completely between sessions.

On Saturday, the Session 1 of the Student Showcase will take place at 13:00 PST / 16:00 EST / 21:00 GMT / 06:00 JST. Our panelists for this one will be:

  • Kristen Bornemann - Development Director at ArenaNet
  • Phil Carlisle - AI Guy at Mindflock
  • Alex Darby - Technical Director at GamerCamp
  • Shawn Kirsch - Senior Production Services Technician at Sony Imageworks

The second session will be held on Sunday at 11:00 PST / 14:00 EST / 19:00 GMT / 04:00 JST and will be judged by

  • Mike Acton - Engine Director at Insomniac Games
  • Claire Blackshaw - Technical Designer at Climax Studios
  • Marcus Montgomery - Senior Designer at Backbone Entertainment
  • Pier Tortorelli - Associate Producer at Ubisoft Reflections

Eventbrite - AltDev Student Summit

The AltDev Student Showcase is just one of the exciting things we have lined up as part of the AltDev Student Summit. Please check out the mini-site for more information and don't forget to register to join us for this chance to learn how the pros assess projects.