The AltDevConf is a online series of community-driven conferences that take place throughout the year We aim provide free access to a comprehensive selection of game development topics taught by leading industry experts, and to create spaces where bright and innovative voices can be heard. Our next event is the AltDev Student Summit, November 10th/11th 2012
Posts by AltDevConf
  1. AltDev Student Summit - Speaker Change for Day 2 ( Counting comments... )
  2. Speaker Highlight - Anne Toole ( Counting comments... )
  3. Speaker Highlight - Ted Spence ( Counting comments... )
  4. AltDev Student Showcase - The Judges ( Counting comments... )
  5. AltDev Student Summit - Microtalks ( Counting comments... )
  6. Speaker Highlight - Mitu Khandaker ( Counting comments... )
  7. AltDev Student Summit - Breaking In Panel ( Counting comments... )
  8. Speaker Highlight - Brandii Grace ( Counting comments... )
  9. Speaker Highlight - Tim Stobo ( Counting comments... )
  10. Speaker Highlight - Rebecca Fernandez ( Counting comments... )
  11. Speaker Highlight - Bobby Anguelov ( Counting comments... )
  12. AltDev Student Showcase - Finalists Announced ( Counting comments... )
  13. Keynote Speaker - Jen MacLean ( Counting comments... )
  14. Speaker Highlight - Alex Crouzen ( Counting comments... )
  15. Speaker Highlight - Benjamin Cavallari ( Counting comments... )
  16. Speaker Highlight - Erik Johnson ( Counting comments... )
  17. Speaker Highlight - Sharon Price ( Counting comments... )
  18. Keynote Speaker - Ian Schreiber ( Counting comments... )
  19. Speaker Highlight - Kate Edwards ( Counting comments... )
  20. Speaker Highlight - Jeff Ward ( Counting comments... )
  21. Speaker Highlight - Romana Ramzan ( Counting comments... )
  22. Speaker Highlight - Andy Schmoll ( Counting comments... )
  23. Speaker Highlight - Mike Jungbluth ( Counting comments... )
  24. Speaker Highlight - Phil Tibitoski & Jay Margalus ( Counting comments... )
  25. Speaker Highlight - Dustin Clingman ( Counting comments... )
  26. Unity Technologies Sponsors AltDev Student Showcase ( Counting comments... )
  27. Showcase Your Student Projects at AltDev Student Summit ( Counting comments... )
#AltDevConf /

Due to a last minute cancellation, the session "What is a Player Champion" given by Romana Ramzan will not be shown. Instead it will be replaced by "A Day in the Life of a Creative Director" given by Jurie Horneman of Mi'Pu'Mi Games:

When preparing for this talk I made a list of all the things I do on a regular basis as the creative director of Mipumi Games. I then realized that a lot of the things I do are not what one might associate with being a creative director. I will be talking about what it takes to work on the director level at a small game development company.

And here's the bio for Jurie

Jurie Horneman is the creative director of Mipumi Games, based in Vienna, Austria. He has been making games since 1991 and has worked as a game designer, producer and programmer. He got into the games industry via the Atari ST demo scene.

We're very grateful to Jurie for stepping in at the last minute. You can see his session at 1pm PST / 4pm EST / 9pm GMT today, Sunday 11th November.

We'll be restarting the conference for Day 2 after a very successful first day in a few hours, at 11am PST / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT. Be sure not miss these great sessions live, and join in the conversation using #AltDevConf on Twitter.